What Is the Charge for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Florida?
To start with, under Florida Statute 316.027, leaving the scene of an accident in Florida is a second-degree misdemeanor. For this reason, the penalties could include:
- Up to 60 days in jail
- A fine of up to $500
Secondly, if injuries occurred, then it becomes a third-degree felony and can result in:
- revoked license
- 3 to 5 years in prison
- A fine of up to $5,000
Thirdly, if you leave the scene and a fatality occurred, then you could face:
- mandatory minimum sentence of 4 years in prison
- Up to 30 years in prison
- A fine of up to $10,000
In all honesty, if you left the scene of an accident you now face the charges of leaving the scene of an accident. Although, this is a perfectly natural response to a shocking event. So, it is still against the law. At times like these, you need someone to protect you from the law and that is where the RHINO Lawyers can help you.
How We Will Help
In short, we will work with you to identify all the risks that you may be facing. Above all, we will find the critical information we need to counterbalance those risks. Then, we will charge ahead by working directly with your prosecutor. Furthermore, we will demand your case get completely dropped or your charges drastically reduced.
Thus, if you are facing charges for leaving the scene of an accident, we can help. As a matter of fact, we have won hundreds of cases for our clients in similar circumstances. So, we know what it takes to fight on your behalf.
CONTACT YOUR FLORIDA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS
BOLD REPRESENTATION. BOLD RESULTS.
Let RHINO Lawyers’ former State Attorney and Prosecutor start helping YOU immediately by giving you free advice regarding the facts of your case.
So, get YOUR Free Case Analysis now by texting us, chatting with us online, completing the form below, or by calling 844.246.1238.