Failing to Register a Vehicle Ticket
To start with, after buying a motor vehicle the prerequisite to driving it is registering it. In fact, you must register it with the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles or you could receive a registration ticket. By the way, you will need to submit a proper application, payment and providing proof of insurance. Then, you will receive a Florida registration card and a license plate sticker that shows when your registration expires.
Don’t Fail to Register on Your Birthday
Notably, Florida law requires you to update the registration of your vehicle every year. Additionally, this usually falls on the first day of your birthday month. So, that is the date that your license plate sticker bears. Thus, if you fail to register your vehicle with Florida’s Department of Motor Vehicles, or fail to update your registration, you can receive a ticket for no valid registration pursuant to Florida Statutes 320.02.
Penalties for Registration Tickets
As long as, your registration or sticker was not expired for more than six months, you won’t receive a criminal charge. Yet, if either or both expired more than six months ago, you can receive a second-degree misdemeanor under Florida Statutes 320.07(3)(c). In fact, the crime carries a sentence of up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. Now you have a problem. Because you’re facing a criminal prosecution and conviction.
Thus, RHINO Lawyers’ criminal defense team will leave no stone unturned in helping you. In fact, we will work to discover all the unique circumstances impacting your case. More importantly, our former state prosecutor will leverage his inside knowledge to help your case.
Lastly, we fully understand your position and can guide you through a system molded by law enforcement, judges, and lawyers for decades. Having won cases for our clients in similar circumstances, we know what it takes to fight on your behalf.
CONTACT YOUR FLORIDA CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS
Let RHINO Lawyers’ former State Attorney and Prosecutor start helping YOU immediately by giving you free advice regarding the facts of your case.
So, get YOUR Free Case Analysis now by texting us, chatting with us online, completing the form below, or by calling 844.246.1238.