Why did I receive a Notice of Violation?
To start with, it is based upon images captured. So, the automated system determined your vehicle committed a red light camera violation. And, as the vehicle owner, they mail the Notice of Violation to you.
How much is the fine?
Actually, each red light camera violation citations carry a $158 statutory penalty. Yet, you will not receive points against your driving record.
Pay your fine within 30 days or you will receive a “Uniform Traffic Citation.” You may also receive increased penalties and court costs.
How much time do I have to pay my Notice of Red Light Camera Violation?
You must pay the civil penalty on or before the due date on your Notice of Violation.
What are my options?
1. Pay the fine.
- Pay online. Log on to www.ViolationInfo.com by entering your notice number and PIN number shown in the red box on the front right of your notice. Click the pay button. They charge a convenience fee of $4.00 at the time of payment.
- Pay by mail. Mail your check or money order, payable to Automated Traffic Control Violation System, in the enclosed envelope along with the coupon printed at the bottom of the notice. Write the notice number and the license plate number on your check or money order. Do not mail cash. The mailing address is: P.O. Box 742503, Cincinnati, OH 45274-2503.
- Pay by credit card. Call toll-free 1-866-790-4111 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday – Friday. They charge a convenience fee of $4.00 at the time of payment.
2. To Contest the Violation.
- If you choose to appear before an official of the county court or plead not guilty, do not respond to this Notice of Violation.
- You will receive a Uniform Traffic Citation within 60 days of the violation date via certified mail.
- The county clerk’s office will provide you instructions on how you should proceed.
3. Submission of Affidavit.
- As the registered owner of the vehicle, responsibility for the violation and the payment of a $158.00 penalty falls on you. Unless in compliance with Florida Statute § 316.0083(1)(d)1.a-d, you establish by a sworn affidavit that a statutory exemption applies.
- If you assert that the vehicle was in the care, custody, or control of another person, you must provide the name, address, date of birth, and, if known, the driver’s license number of the person who leased, rented, or otherwise had care, custody, or control of the vehicle at the time of the violation. ACCEPTANCE OF THIS ASSERTION BY THE TAMPA Police Department WILL RESULT IN THE ISSUANCE OF A UNIFORM TRAFFIC CITATION TO THE PERSON NAMED IN THE AFFIDAVIT. If the vehicle was stolen, then the affidavit must include a copy of a police report showing the vehicle to have been stolen.
They recommend getting them the affidavit or payment eight (8) days prior to the due date specified on the front page of this notice. So, it is appropriately processed. Otherwise, they issue a UTC at a higher cost. Mail the affidavit to:
PO Box 22091, Tempe, AZ 85286-2091
QUESTIONS: If you have any questions, please contact customer service toll-free at 1-866-225-8875
What happens if I ignore the Notice of Violation?
If you fail to respond, they issue a Uniform Traffic Citation (“UTC”) to you. YOU MAY BE RESPONSIBLE FOR COURT FEES AND COSTS. Upon issuance of a UTC, you shall have the remedies specified in Florida Statutes § 318.14, which include the right to have a hearing before a designated official, who shall determine whether an infraction has been committed. If the official concludes you did not commit an infraction, they will not impose costs or penalties. If the official concludes you committed an infraction, the official may impose an additional civil penalty not to exceed $500 and court fees and costs.
Will I receive any points on my driving record for this infraction?
No. The Florida Department of Motor Vehicles doesn’t receive these civil infractions.
Will my insurance rates be affected?
No. This is a civil infraction, and it is not reported to any insurance agencies.
What if I was issued a citation from an officer for the same offense?
If you assert that a law enforcement officer issued the UTC for the violation of Florida Statute § 316.074(1) and 316.075(1)(C)1. So, you must include the serial number of the UTC with a sworn affidavit. For faster processing, you can include a copy of the UTC.
My payment has already been sent; will I still be charged late fees?
You will NOT receive lates fees when your payment is postmarked on or before the due date located on the front of your Notice of Violation.
I paid the violation; why did I receive another notice?
The notice you just received could be for additional violations or it could be a second notice for a delinquent citation. If it is a delinquent notice, chances are that your payment and the notice crossed in the mail. But, it can take as many as 10 business days to show in the system once it has reached our office. Call 1-866-790-4111 to confirm they received your payment.
Do I have to pay my fine the day of the hearing?
You must pay the full fine amount within 60 days of a liable judgment.
Can I be denied my legal rights as part of this “automated” program?
No. Anyone may appeal their citation to the city of Tampa or the municipal courts. A traffic ticket attorney can assist. So, call the criminal defense team at RHINO Lawyers today.
Will the county or city change the yellow light times to catch more violators and make more money?
No. The State of Florida sets the yellow light time cycle for every intersection in Florida and, in close conjunction with our city, each camera will be routinely reviewed to ensure compliance with the law.