Injured in an auto accident, medical malpractice, facing criminal charges, or need help with a traffic ticket? Our mission is to form a lasting partnership with every client. Our passion is the people we help and the lives that we help change. So, if you have questions or need assistance—we are here to help.

  1. Home
  2. Traffic Tickets
  3. What Are the Consequences of a DUI Hit-And-Run in Florida?

Free Video Consultation
Text Us Now

What Are the Consequences of a DUI Hit-And-Run in Florida?

It’s estimated that every day roughly thirty-seven people die from DUI-related accidents. This alarming statistic helps explain why states like Florida are so hard on DUI offenses.

Driving drunk is already a serious offense that carries wide-ranging consequences. However, what happens if you drive away from the scene of a crash while intoxicated?

As you can guess, a DUI hit-and-run combines many of the penalties of both these charges. In this guide, we’ll be discussing the laws that dictate punishments for these kinds of offenses. That way, you get a better idea of what you’re facing and possible defenses.

What Are Florida Hit-and-Run Laws?

Before we learn about DUI hit-and-run laws in Florida, it’s important to first learn about the consequences of these two separate offenses. Let’s start with hit-and-run laws.

In the Sunshine State, these laws come from Florida Statute 316.027. It states that following an accident you are legally required to stop your car either at the scene of the crash or as close as you can to where the accident occurred.

You’re then required to stay at the scene of the crash until you’ve provided the other party with your driver’s license, name, address, and vehicle registration number.

You will also need to show the police your license during the investigation of the accident. Additionally, if someone was injured in the accident, you’re legally responsible for providing a reasonable level of assistance.

This includes organizing transportation of the individual to a hospital. The consequences of a hit-and-run will depend on the circumstances surrounding it. They can include:

  • Hit-and-run with a less than serious injury (3rd-degree felony): a $5,000 fine and a sentence of up to five years
  • A hit-and-run with a serious injury (2nd-degree felony): a $10,000 fine and a sentence of up to fifteen years
  • Hit-and-run with death (1st-degree felony): a $10,000 fine and a sentence of up to thirty years (minimum of four years)

That’s why it’s vital to always stay at the scene of the crime no matter how scared you get following an accident.

What Are Florida DUI Laws?

The consequences associated with a DUI in Florida will depend on the number of past DUIs and whether or not the property was damaged. If it’s your first DUI, then you face a fine of up to $1,000 and a maximum of six months in jail.

There’s also the possibility that you’ll lose your license for six months and require fifty hours of community service to reinstate it. If it’s your second or third DUI conviction you will face fines and jail sentences.

With these types of DUIs, your fines will be up to $4,000. You’ll also face a potential sentence of twelve months in jail (and a minimum of ten days). What’s more, you’ll likely have your driver’s license suspended for up to ten years.

If you’ve been convicted of a DUI a fourth time in the state of Florida, it can turn into a third-degree felony. Also keep in mind that this only applies to DUIs that don’t end in property damage, injuries, or death.

Like hit-and-run charges, the fines and sentences will increase steadily depending on whether the DUI accident caused a less-than-serious injury, serious injury, or death.

What Happens If You Leave the Scene of a DUI Hit-and-Run?

If you were involved in a DUI accident, you might get the urge to drive away to avoid the heavy fines and sentences associated with the crime. However, this is never a good idea.

For starters, hit-and-run drivers are almost always caught, especially if they’re intoxicated. On top of that, you are doubling whatever fines and sentences are handed down to you.

Not only are you facing potential felony charges with your DUI, but now you’re also facing hit-and-run charges. These sentences don’t cancel each other out. That means that when you engage with DUI hit-and-run charges you’ll likely be facing multiple felonies. This needs to be avoided at all costs.

What Are the Defenses for a DUI Hit-and-Run?

We understand how DUI hit-and-runs can happen. Often you’re in a state of panic and fright that can lead you to make a rash, unwise decision. However, if you’re in the process of being convicted on these charges, is there any defense that can help you?

The good news is that some hit-and-run defense strategies can get your DUI evidence thrown out. One way is to cast doubt on the evidence that you were intoxicated.

Things like hearsay, faulty breathalyzers, or incomplete evidence can all help prove you weren’t intoxicated. You might also get out of the case by proving that you weren’t the driver responsible for the DUI hit-and-run.

If you were injured, you might make the case that you left the scene immediately to receive treatment for your injuries. Or, you could say that a head injury caused you not to think straight. Read this full guide to learn some of the ways to get DUI evidence thrown out.

How Can the Right Lawyer Help You

Facing multiple felony charges is not something to mess around with. A criminal defense attorney can help you utilize some of the strategies listed above to minimize a DUI hit-and-run case.

Without them, there’s a high chance you’ll be facing serious jail time and steep fines. Just make sure you find one that specializes in both hit-and-run cases as well as DUI cases. That way, they have the overlap in knowledge to get you out of your hit-and-run conviction.

Need Legal Help With a DUI Hit-and-Run in Florida?

We hope this guide helped you learn more about the consequences of a DUI hit-and-run in Florida. Here at RHINO Lawyers, we know how scary it can be to face charges like this. Unfortunately, many law offices can be awful at communicating updates or questions about your case.

This can just add to your anxiety. That’s why we strive to be different. Whether it’s with Facetime or an Instagram DM, we prioritize communication with our clients above all else.

So if you want to get the attention that your DUI case deserves, contact us today to get a free case review.


RHINO Lawyers can help and guide you through a system molded by law enforcement, judges, and lawyers for decades. Having won cases for our clients in similar circumstances, our criminal defense team knows what it takes to fight on your behalf.

Let RHINO Lawyers answer your questions and review the facts of your case with a Free Consultation. So, get started by completing the “Free Instant Case Evaluation” or by calling us any time, day or night, at (844) RHINO-77.