Injured in an auto accident, medical malpractice, facing criminal charges, or need help with a traffic ticket? Our mission is to form a lasting partnership with every client. Our passion is the people we help and the lives that we help change. So, if you have questions or need assistance—we are here to help.

  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Tampa Trauma Center Information

Free Video Consultation
Text Us Now

Tampa Trauma Center Information

First, when someone is seriously injured, they often need to go to an emergency room; known today as a trauma center; for medical assistance. But, these medical care departments are a vital resource to a community. Especially, when someone has incurred a life-threatening injury from an auto accident.

In fact, the Tampa area has two trauma emergency rooms. St. Joseph’s Hospital has both a designated Level II. And, a Pediatric Trauma Center, and Tampa General Hospital, which is a Level I Trauma Center.

Note: If you or a loved one was injured in an accident, contact us for a free consultation. We visit both of these hospitals to speak to accident victims.

Medical Trauma

Furthermore, a medical trauma is defined as a sudden onset of a physical injury with sufficient severity to require immediate medical attention. Thus, if someone experiencing a trauma doesn’t get medical attention quickly, the injury might cause systemic shock called “shock trauma” and may require immediate resuscitation and interventions to save a life or limb.

Even though, auto accidents are the number one cause of personal injury in the United States. Incidentally, there are certain common types of traumatic injuries that come from car crashes that require a trip to an emergency room. Some of these are:

  • Traumatic brain injuries
  • Spinal cord injuries
  • Skull fractures
  • Collapsed lungs
  • Crush injuries
  • Burn injuries.

What is a Trauma Center?

Hence, a trauma center—traditionally called an emergency room—is a medical care unit found in a licensed hospital that is equipped to deal with traumatic injuries. Yet, each state has laws that designate the levels of each center and provides guidelines on what is required to meet a certain level of trauma care. However, most states follow the same general designations so that there is uniformity in the meaning of the different levels of trauma care.

Types of trauma centers in Florida

Like most states, Florida uses a level system to designate the type of trauma care available in each emergency room. And, the Florida Department of Health creates the designation of each center throughout the state. In fact, each center is then verified by the American College of Surgeons which has national standards used in the verification process.

Additionally, a trauma emergency room needs to be re-verified every three years, and for an emergency room to gain and maintain a level I designation, it must provide both adult and pediatric services. Actually, these designations are:

  • Level I Trauma Centers
  • Level II Trauma Centers
  • Pediatric Trauma Centers

Florida Level I Centers

Thus, a Level I center in Florida must meet the standards of a trauma emergency room and be verified by the Florida Department of Health.

  • They have the resources, equipment, and personnel to handle critical patient care.
  • Use formal trauma-certified doctors, nurses, and surgeons on staff at all times.
  • Has the formal research and education programs for the enhancement of trauma care.
  • Serves as a resource facility to Level II and Pediatric Trauma Centers.
  • Has various levels of local (municipal) support and funding

Level II Centers

Granted, these are similar to Level I centers but do not require the research and residency components. Additionally, they have lower volume requirements of major trauma patients.

Components of Level II Center

  • Has the resources, equipment, and personnel to handle critical patient care.
  • Has formal trauma certified doctors, nurses, and surgeons on staff at all times.
  • Continues in training for the enhancement of trauma care.
  • Has various levels of local (municipal) support and funding

Pediatric Trauma Centers

Additionally, all Level I Centers must have served as a Pediatric Trauma Center. And, other emergency rooms can have the designations of a Pediatric Trauma Center without Level I or II designations.

Components of a Pediatric Trauma Center

  • They have resources and equipment to handle critical pediatric patients.
  • Use pediatric critical care trained and certified personnel and staff.
  • Has a pediatric trauma-certified emergency doctor and a pediatric surgeon on at all times.

Tampa Metro Area Trauma Centers

St Joseph’s Hospital
Level II Trauma Center
Pediatric Trauma Center
3001 W. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Blvd Tampa, Florida, 33607
(800) 229-2273

Tampa General Hospital
Level I Trauma Center
1 Tampa General Cir
Tampa, FL 33606
(813) 844-7000

Contact a Traumatic Injury Attorney Today

In short, if you or a loved one has visited an emergency room as a result of an auto accident, you need to speak to an attorney to learn your rights under the law. As a result, you may be entitled to compensation from the person that injured you.

Lastly, don’t go it alone, call the personal injury team at RHINO Lawyers which is the powerful, results-driven law firm that takes Insurance Companies and Bullies “head-on!” Thus, we describe our bold modern approach to “Accident & Personal Injury Law” and “Our Personal Mission” to empower Florida’s families to “Take Charge!”