Involved in an accident involving a serious injury or a loved one passed away during the collision? Obtain your car accident report. Then be sure to contact our personal injury team for a free consultation. RHINO Lawyers is dedicated to tackling the insurance companies head-on.
How To Get a Car Accident Report in Tampa Florida
In the City of Tampa police will file an accident report shortly after the crash. (If you did not call the police. File an accident report within 10 days of the crash. In the future, always call 911 after a crash.)
If you have retained an attorney, they will likely obtain the accident report on your behalf. Also, your insurer or yourself may obtain an accident report for a crash that you were involved in. The law only allows these parties to obtain the accident report for the first 60 days from the time of filing.
If you are obtaining the report yourself, you will need a photo ID and you will also need the Sworn Statement for Traffic Crash Report Information form which you can download here Sworn Statement PDF.
Tampa accident reports may be purchased online on the Traffic Accident Report Request page or picked up in person at Tampa Police Department, 411 N Franklin St, Tampa, FL 33602 during normal business hours.
When will the crash report be available?
Short-form crash reports are usually available within a week of the crash.
Long-form Florida Traffic Crash Reports are usually available around 10 days or so after the crash. They use these reports when there are DUIs, significant property damage, injuries or deaths. Long-form reports are also filled out when a tractor-trailer or other commercial vehicle totaled a car.
Do I need an attorney?
You may not need an attorney for accidents resulting in only property damage or minor scrapes and bruises. However, it is always important to speak to an attorney after any crash resulting in serious injuries or fatal accidents. Tampa injury lawyers provide free consultations and offer you advice which is in your best interest.