Reckless driving is a serious offense in Florida. It’s the closest offense to drunk driving that exists. We have seen drunk driving charges reduced to a lesser charge of reckless driving. In fact, under those circumstances, they often refer to the offense as a “wet reckless.”
A person shows a willful and wanton disregard for the person and property of others when they drive recklessly. A conviction for a first charge of reckless driving will carry a possible sentence of six months in jail and a fine not to exceed $500. A second conviction carries up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
The Florida court system hears reckless driving cases daily. In some cases, they actually dismiss the charges. Such a dismissal is sometimes based on evidentiary grounds in return for a plea of guilty to a lesser offense like careless driving. It might also occur pursuant to a negotiated plea of guilty to reckless driving. Yet, the dismissal would be contingent upon payment of fines and court costs and compliance with any terms of probation. On a straight plea or finding of guilt, it’s unlikely that the ultimate dismissal of a reckless driving charge would be available.
Always remember that even if they dismiss the reckless driving case against you, that charge will remain on your record. However, the record of that arrest will stay with you for the rest of your life unless you have it expunged. Having the charged expunged is another process. It involves the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and the courts in the county the arrest occurred. Without that expunction, you can expect the prosecution to take a harsher approach to the disposition of a second reckless driving charge.
Contact Tampa’s Traffic Ticket Lawyer, RHINO Lawyers
If you received this type of ticket or a careless driving ticket, contact the RHINO Lawyers.
As a tough, thick-skinned law firm we offer a robust approach to traffic ticket defense and all Florida driver’s license issues. Our criminal defense team knows the importance of keeping you in the driver’s seat with a clean driving record. Moving violations can easily result in dramatically increased automobile insurance rates, substantial fines, and even driver’s license suspension. Lastly, disputing your citation is your only chance of getting it dismissed, even if you think you are “guilty.”