We’ve probably all received a ticket for speeding. Yet, it’s highly unlikely that we’ve received a charge of felony speeding. That can happen in Florida though.
If a person who is operating a motor vehicle at 50 mph or more over the posted speed limit on a third or subsequent violation, he or she can expect to be charged with felony speeding. Or, a third-degree felony. Felony speeding is punishable by up to five years in a state prison, a driver’s license revocation for 10 years and a fine not to exceed $5,000.
There are also likely to be consequences in employment, educational and housing opportunities along with a person’s eligibility to own or possess a firearm and vote.
Always remember that the prosecution has the burden of proving you guilty of a criminal offense beyond a reasonable doubt. Don’t give the state any additional evidence to try and convict you with. If a police officer asks you if you know how fast you were going, politely reply that you don’t know. However, you must produce your driver’s license, registration, and proof of insurance. Yet, the law does not require you to answer any questions without an attorney being present on your behalf.
Invoke your right to an attorney as soon as possible by asking to speak with us. Law enforcement will take you into custody and place you under arrest for going 50 mph or more above the speed limit. Not to mention, posting a cash bond is often required for release. Rather than answering any questions, ask to be able to contact our offices at your earliest opportunity.
Contacte con el abogado de multas de tráfico de Tampa, RHINO Lawyers
If you received this type of ticket, contact the RHINO Lawyers. We are a tough, thick-skinned law firm offering a robust approach to traffic ticket defense and all Florida driver’s license issues. Our equipo de defensa penal conoce la importancia de mantenerlo en el asiento del conductor con un registro de conducción limpio. Las violaciones en movimiento pueden fácilmente resultar en un aumento dramático de las tasas de seguro de automóviles, multas sustanciales, e incluso la suspensión de la licencia de conducir. Disputar su citación es su única oportunidad de conseguir que sea desestimada, incluso si usted cree que es "culpable".